An Oak Tree



Tickets and info: Order Form
215-218-4022
An Oak Tree

directed by Joe Canuso

Season Sponsor: Bruce and Giuliana Zallie from Zallie Supermarkets
 
Philadelphia Premiere
February 14-March 10
Christ Church Neighborhood House, 20 N. American Street
 
An Oak Tree is a darkly comic and moving play about loss, the power of suggestion, and the magic of the mind. A parent loses a child, a stage hypnotist loses his mojo, nothing is what it is. It’s like they're in a play – but they don’t know the words. Theatre Exile favorite Pearce Bunting is joined by a new actor each night, who walks on stage having neither seen nor read a word of the play they’re in… until they’re in it. A breathtaking performance exploring a unique relationship - between a hypnotist and his subject, between one actor and another, and between an audience and the play itself.
 
“It is like watching your own heart being mugged. You know exactly how it is happening, but you still can’t prevent it.” — The Guardian
 
Thu (Preview) Feb. 14 7pm $10
^^Fri (Preview) Feb. 15 8 PM ^^$10 (in advance)
Sat (Preview) Feb. 16 8 PM $25
Sun (Preview) Feb. 17 3 PM $25
Tue (Preview) Feb. 19 7 PM $25
Wed (Opening) Feb. 20 8 PM SOLD OUT
Thu Feb. 21 7 PM $35
Fri Feb. 22 8 PM $35
Sat Feb. 23 8 PM $35
Sun Feb. 24 3 PM $35
Wed Feb. 27 7 PM $35
*Thu Feb. 28 7 PM *$35
Fri Mar. 1 8 PM $37
Sat Mar. 2 8 PM $37
*Sun Mar. 3 3 PM $37
Mon Mar. 4 7 PM $37
Wed Mar. 6 7 PM $37
Thu Mar. 7 11 AM $37 (added performance)
Thu Mar. 7 7 PM $37
Fri Mar. 8 8 PM $40
Sat Mar. 9 8 PM $40
Sun Mar. 10 3 PM $40

^^ indicates Pay What You Can or $10 in advance
* indicates post-show discussions